New Year’s K.I.S.S

As I write this, I’m returning from a much needed vacation to New York. After seeing the sights and eating more pizza than I care to admit, I’m sincerely looking forward to getting back into the old routine.

Taking breaks is absolutely essential. I’ll be honest, this was my first proper vacation as an adult and after 2 weeks of amazingness, my enthusiasm for starting some new projects is the highest it’s been in a while. Also, I probably ate more pizza, bagels, and hot dogs than I can count.

pizza

And you know what? I’m not worried about it.

I know that once I get home it’s going to be business as usual in that I’m NOT going to be eating pizza, bagels, and hot dogs every damn day. I don’t get to vacation often so I definitely wasn’t going hold myself to any strict dietary guidelines. The lesson here is that indulging occasionally isn’t the end of the world – in fact, it’s a big part of finding balance and enjoying life.

Now, all this talk about indulgence, and getting back on the nutrition wagon brings us to New Year’s resolutions. I figured I’d help all you folks out by providing some principles to help you be successful in your weight loss endeavors.

K.I.S.S= Keep It Simple, Stupid

Despite what TV, Magazines, and the internet tell you, weight loss isn’t rocket science. You probably have all of the information on nutrition you need. Actually, you probably have too much information.  Paralysis by analysis is a common reason for failure in the weight loss arena. More information is not necessarily better; most of the time it just makes things more confusing.

Keep weight loss simple. The simpler your approach the easier and more effective it will be. Focusing on minute details often detracts from fully committing to the important details. In other words, stop worrying about your protein-to-carb ratio if you drink everyday.

There are many ways to skin a cat. There isn’t any one right way to lose weight. There is no such thing as a perfect diet – but there is such a thing as the perfect diet FOR YOU. A perfect diet is one that you enjoy AND yields results. How you do this is up to you, just use some common sense and stop getting caught up in insignificant details.

I’ll sum it up with an interaction with a client I had a few months ago:

Client: What do you think the ideal amount of protein is?

Me: I don’t care

Perfect is often the enemy of good enough.

Leave a Reply

