The Joy of Not Working Out

I didn’t know what humidity was. Now I do.
I mean I had an idea and everyone from the east coast always said it sucked, but I didn’t REALLY know what it was.

Then Tuesday happened.

My epiphany happened at about 7am Bangkok time. I was completely and utterly sleep deprived. I’m not sure how long I was awake for. The many timezone switches of my flight made it difficult to say. I can’t sleep on planes, turns out. If I had to guess, I’d say I went about 30 hours without sleep. Anyways, I was not what one would call “functional”.

So I’m wandering around Bangkok international airport trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do to get to Bangkok proper, thinking about how it’s kinda hot and uncomfortable inside.

It’s 7am. I thought, Ok let’s go outside, it’ll be better.

Oh how wrong I was!

I immediately took off my jacket that I bought for some stupid reason and panicked as I realized I didn’t pack well.

Anyways, this is just how it is here. Hot and humid.
Now, I had been brainstorming bodyweight workouts for my trip. I feel better when I workout and didn’t want to lose much strength. I had planned it all out.

What I hadn’t planned for was that Bangkok is basically in the jungle. It’s only day 2 but I’m pretty positive I won’t be doing much working out on this trip. I have zero desire to workout in this heat. None.

I’m OK with it.

There’s more to life than working out. 

Sometimes that’s just the way the cards fall. In this case, this is how I stacked the deck. Am I a little bummed? Sure. But when it comes down to it, working out should enhance your experience. Right now I don’t think it would.

Is it worth it to not lift for 2 months, even if I lose a bunch of strength I’ve worked hard for? Absolutely. These next two months will be an adventure to say the least. But that’s the thing about adventures, they are unpredictable and require some adapting.

There will be times in life where fitness gets put wayyyy wayy on the backburner. Priorities shift.
There’s nothing wrong with that. It’s quite normal. However, we ought to be very clear with ourselves on what our priorities are at any given time. We can’t act in line with our values if we don’t know what they are.
The purpose of this trip wasn’t to get ripped. The purpose was to have an experience. In a way my goals are just shifting for a few months. Once I return to the US I will want to start lifting again. For now though, screw it.
There is a caveat though. Whoever is most consistent, regardless of circumstances, will be most successful in their endeavors. No one is denying that. 
All I’m saying is that there is nothing wrong with, and I think it’s healthy, to have other priorities take center stage sometimes. That said, we have to be honest. I am fully aware that I will lose some strength and muscle in the next few months. I initially had some anxiety about it going into the trip. Now I fully accept this.
In summary, know what your goals are. Know why you aspire to those goals. Know what actions will take you there. Know the consequences and tradeoffs of said actions. And most importantly, bring shorts when you visit Thailand.
  

Leave a Reply

