Weekly Fitness Reads:9/14/15

I just got back from an amazing vacation in Alberta, Canada, which is why I haven’t posted anything in a week(gasp! and entire week!!!). If you haven’t been, Banff National Park is simply breathtaking. The Rockies knocked me on my ass with their majesty. Also, The Royal Tyrell Museum is an entire museum devoted to dinosaurs. DINOSAURS!! I’m still a 5 year old at heart, so I had a blast and kind of regret not pursuing Paleontology like I wanted to after I saw Jurassic Park for the first time

DSCN1338

In my continuing effort to strike a work/life balance(not easy, by the way), I decided to not let myself do anything work related. That said, I may or may not have cranked out a rough draft for an ebook…like I said, balance=not easy. It’s ok though, just like I tell my cleints, it’s all about the baby steps. The thing about balance is that drastic changes do not build it. If you start to drift off right side of the road, it’s not necessarily a good idea to crank left super hard on the right. Anyways, I’m excited to get the thing completed and up on my website. And the best part is, it will be FREE! Stay tuned!

At any rate, I’m happy to be back in the states, and am excited to get back on the gym floor with my clients and writing silly fitness articles for you folks. And here we go!

http://tonygentilcore.com/2015/09/13-words-that-may-help-change-your-life/

A lesson I often heard doing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu was, “Get comfortable feeling uncomfortable”. Having a dude who is 50 lbs heavier than you smash your face with his shoulder is probably the literal definition of discomfort, but oddly enough you get used to it. I think this principle goes beyond Jiu Jitsu and is a good mantra for life in general. Growth begins outside of the comfort zone right?

http://www.soheefit.com/first-chinup/

Chinups are fucking awesome. It’s science. Getting your first chinup, in my opinion, is the hardest part. After that, it’s just a matter of putting in the practice. Working towards that first chinup is a bit trickier and requires a little more exercise knowledge than “just get the reps in”. There are some exercises that can help you eek out that first earth shattering chinup. I personally don’t use the band assisted chinups as mentioned in the article, but that doesn’t mean they don’t work! As the saying goes, there’s more than one way to skin a cat and different things will work for different people. Give some of these a shot!

http://www.bandanatraining.com/routine/#0 

I tend to think people have way too much variety in their training. I see a lot of folks doing a completely different workout routine every day. They do different exercises, rep schemes etc. constantly and then wonder why their progress stalls. This is because strength is a skill, and you wouldn’t get good at riding a bike by practicing it once a month. Time to conquer that exercise ADHD and start moving forward.

Leave a comment